"He will put the sheep on his right and the goats on his left."
Matthew 25:33

Friday, February 27, 2009

Second Amendment Task Force Created!


WASHINGTON D.C. - U.S. Congressman Dan Boren, (OK-2) and U.S. Congressman Paul Broun, (GA-10), Co-Chairs of the Second Amendment Task Force (SATF) in the U.S. House of Representatives, released the following statements regarding Attorney General Eric Holder’s recent comments on the possibility of the Obama Administration seeking to reinstate a ban on sales of assault weapons.

Congressman Boren
“The Second Amendment Task Force is adamantly opposed to reinstating the ban on the sale of assault weapons as it clearly would demonstrate a violation of United States citizens’ right to keep and bear arms. The Constitution absolutely does not outline any provision to restrict ownership of a gun belonging to a specific category. I will diligently work with my colleagues on the Second Amendment Task Force to defeat any form of legislation in Congress that poses a threat to the Second Amendment.”

Congressman Paul Broun
“The Attorney General’s recent comments about reinstating the ‘assault weapons’ ban are extremely troubling since a ban clearly violates our Constitutional right to bear arms. The Second Amendment Task Force opposes the discussed ban and will fight any attempts that infringe on our Second Amendment rights.”

The Second Amendment Task Force was created in the 111th Congress to monitor legislation regarding the Second Amendment in the U.S. House of Representatives. It acts as a unified and proactive force to promote legislation that protects the Second Amendment and to fight legislation that poses a threat to citizens’ Constitutional right to keep and bear arms.

The bipartisan task force includes a group of Members from a wide spectrum of backgrounds that represent a large geographical area:

Rep. Dan Boren (D-OK), Task Force Co-Chair
Rep. Jason Altmire (D-PA)
Rep. Travis Childers (D-MS)
Rep. Brad Ellsworth (D-IN)
Rep. Jim Matheson (D-UT)
Rep. Mike McIntyre (D-NC)

Rep. Paul Broun (R-GA), Task Force Co-Chair
Rep. Rep. Rob Bishop (R-UT)
Rep. John Carter (R-TX)
Rep. John Boozman (R-AR)
Rep. Steve King (R-IA)
Rep. Steve Scalise (R-LA)

No comments: